In some countries, more young adults continue to live with their parents even after they have completed education and found jobs. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In various nations, an increasing number of graduates have the tendency to live with their parents despite having attained a stable job. This choice of life has both boons and banes; however, according to my perception, the advantages of it are eclipsed by the drawbacks.

On the one hand, continuing to stay with families is perceived to bring about two primary benefits to the young adults. Firstly, since all the basic household chores are done by their mothers, their free time will be devoted on work and career development. Apart from that, by residing with their parents, graduates will definitely have no financial burden as they do not have to worry about any essential expenditure such as rental fee or electric bills. These two reasons adequately persuade graduated pupils to keep on staying with their fathers and mothers.

However, everything has two sides and living dependently is no exception, for there are a number of demerits which very few people are aware of. One of the most prevalent problems is that such way of living makes young adults’ survival skills wear off. In other words, if they are to live on their own, they will find it a challenge due to not being able to simple things like cooking or doing laundry. Besides, in certain conventional cultures, the more money a person in a family spends, the more powerful their words are. As a result, graduates who stay with their family will forever have to listen and follow their parents for their basic expenditure are covered up by them.

In conclusion, although it is considered beneficial for not living on one’s own, I am a firm advocate that this has more of the drawbacks.