Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In this contemporary world, it is a must for everybody to acquire a new language. There is an ongoing debate about when is the best time to learn it. To some experts, the optimum time for children to learn a new language is when they are in primary schools. Although there are both pros and cons, I think that the benefits of learning language at these ages DO OUTWEIGH the drawbacks.

On the one hand, acquiring a new language at young learner ages is extremely beneficial. Unlike adults, children primarily take in new language through imitation and repetition; therefore, they can pick up pronunciation more quickly and accurately. Furthermore, by this way, children can actually remember the language in a longer due to direct exposure as well as put in their emotions to it. Besides, children can spend more time learning the language as they are not overwhelmed with academic subjects compared to those in secondary schools. Apart from gaining the language easily, such classrooms can be more enjoyable for children as there are often games hosted with prizes awarded.

On the other hand, even if individuals have attained comprehensive knowledge of their fields, they are unlikely to be successful without experiencing real life situations. Since what acquired in classrooms and lecture halls are mostly fixed information, newly graduated pupils often face a lot of hardships in dealing with the flexibility of implications related to their work. Besides, they may initially find it difficult to apply what have learnt into actual practices. That is why other than requiring the interviewee to indicate their academic achievements in their CVs, employers often ask for their previous working experience.

In summary, academic accomplishments aren't enough to bring a person to a successful life. It needs to go along with a lot of practice. Hence, I think that a student should involve in real life activities or internships in order to find a correct strategy to a bright future.