Government should make laws about people’s nutrition and food choice. Other argue that is their choice.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Having a nutritious meal is advisable to every individual, and to some people, governments should come up with laws to restrict certain food consumption. To many people, however, believe that it is up to them to decide what to eat. From my perspective, I opine that we should be let free in choosing our food.

To advocates, by imposing strict laws to food that are considered unhealthy or poisonous, everyone is obligated to consider what to be in their groceries list carefully, ending up choosing nutritious products. Food manufactures also have to double-check on their nutrient contents before their products reach the consumers. Not only do governments’ restrictions on food choices ensure that everyone consume healthy, but it is also a solution to eradicate food that are made from endangered species, or those that are made from pets. There are a number of countries, mostly Asians’ include animals that are in the red list like blue whale or blue fin tune, or cats and dogs in their dietary consumption. Such regulations plays a part in halting these ways of eating, which apparently save those creatures.

On the other hand, critics argue that the governments cannot take advantage of the authority to force people to eat the way they want. Firstly, not everyone shares the same definition of healthiness, nor do they have the same level of nutrition intake as it depends on their current lifestyle and conditions. In other words, certain food may be good for some but bad for others. Besides, by imposing such an unfair law on food, people’s opportunities to have a taste on new and strange food vanished, leaving people feeling dissatisfied. This may lead to problems such as illegal importing of banned dietary products.

To sum up, even though laws contribute to molding the way people eat to a somehow positive way, it doesn’t mean people’s health and satisfaction is assured when abiding by. Hence, letting people choose their food is the solution that ensures both.