Some people think that all university students should study whateverthey like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Deciding which is a suitable university subject to study is a dilemma for many high school graduates as well as parents. Whereas some opine that students ought to choose the majors of their preferences, to others, learning something that are relevant in the future is advisable. This essay will analyse the abovementioned perspectives and a personal opinion will be provided.

There are a number of reasons why so university students should only study subjects that are useful in the future. To them, our civilisation is more associated with science and technology, rather than art and literature. That is why these subjects are believed to provide more jobs opportunities, higher salaries which eventually lead to students having better life quality. Besides, from an economical view, when students become expertised in the necessary fields, they are contributing to the nation’s economic development, and more inventions that are beneficial to human life emerge. Hence, for a country to be prosperous and economically stable, students should study something related to science and technology

Although learning something that can be applied in the future in beneficial, to some people, student should be free to choose their going-to-learn major. Firstly, studying what they like creates passion in the students. In other words, they will take learning more seriously and enthusiastically, end up pursuing a job of their wishes, and provide paramount productivities for it. Moreover, no job is better than another as we can’t predict what major is going to be in great need in the future, so perhaps work related to art and literature would be more important in the future.

By and large, despite the belief that studying things that are related the future are advantageous to students, I still think it is better if high school graduates choose subjects that they like.