Some people say History is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today's world, subjects like Science and Technology are more important than History.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

In many developed nations, History, and Science and Technology are being taught as the main subjects in schools. A number of people argue History to be the paramount critical subject while the other incline their perspectives on Science and Technology. Personally, I think the benefits of learning Science and Technology completely outnumber those of History.

Although History is a subject which concentrates mainly in past events, its importance is still recognised by many people. First, it provides learners a general insights on how catastrophic incidents such as Wars brought about our civilization and the way that our forefathers' sacrifice in order to bring us peace. This hence, builds our patriotism, wills of defending for our countries and maintain peace. Besides, History helps maintain our culture and tradition by introducing a range of fascinating knowledge of them through past activities and festivals. Thus, as a citizen, it is considered obligated to know all these vital values.

Despite the importance of History, we cannot underestimate that of Science and Technology. This is mainly because we are living in a revolutionary society where these two factors completely dominate the world. For instance, hand phones and technological devices are owned by almost everyone and we heavily depend on them in all aspects of our lives. Also, as we are living in a world that is more prone to unprecedented illness and diseases, more doctors and scientific research are required to forecast and come up with prevention methods for all these health problems. To illustrates this, the novel and notorious Covid-19 pandemic has resulted in thousands of deaths which means there needs to be a huge improvements on doctors and scientists. Thus, since Science and Technology are so essential, learning those two subjects perhaps, provides learners with a well-paid jobs.

To sum up, even though History widens pupils' perception on their nations and raise their awareness of protecting them, Science and Technology seem to take over the importance as they bring to learners the insights of their basic needs as well as occupations with high salary. Hence, it is better for student to learn something which is more required in the modern society.