The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society. Do you think the advantages outweigh the advantages?

As online social networking channels become more prevalent and attract many internet users, they have superseded the conventional way of interaction between people. However, I consider using social media as a way of communication to more advantageous compared to making direct conversations.

Social networking sites make our communication so simple and convenient that it is believed by advocates to make us closer. Online audio calls, text messaging and even the recent advent of video calls have successfully made interactions between people happen more often regardless of how distant they are, their ages or personal backgrounds. Thus, users often use sites such as Facebook to get in touch with their relatives or friends who live far away from them. New friend can also be made via such sites and some people even treat them as a way to look for their life partners.

Furthermore, thanks to its convenience, online interaction is also used in formal situations. For instance, in group work or meetings, arranging appointments and getting to the meeting venue is considered time-consuming. This is why nowadays they are often carried out through video calls. Not only does it save time, but it also allows group members to collect information even if they are at home. Besides, companies often treat the media as a means to deliver their products information in every single of their consumers.

To sum up, since the advent of the social media, interactions occur more frequent and information is brought to people faster than before. Hence, I strongly believed that the pros of it completely outnumbered the cons.