Some people believe that nowadays we have too many choices.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

We are living in an unprecedented age of options where we are flooded with a substantial number of choices. I totally agree with this and believe that this is rather disadvantageous.

Our lives have been bombarded with infinite choices. It is ranging from something that serves our daily needs to other aspects of our lives such as our education and career. To illustrate this, Starbucks has proudly introduced more than 80,000 beverage options for us to choose. Hence, there will be very little chances where we cannot pick up our preferred options. Besides, online shopping is another example worth mentioning where there are countless products for us to look for even when we single out our need one by typing their names in the search box. Apart from that, high school students are often overwhelmed with an array of major options to study for which takes them days to decide on the most suitable one.

Although we are surrounded with choices, it is considered more a boon than a bane. First, having too many options ironically drives us away from coming up to our final decision. This is mainly due to the fact that commercials are competing for our attention to their products by presenting all their positive aspects. Hence, even after we have come up with our most suitable choice, we can still be distracted by the benefits of others. Besides, being overloaded with options potentially leads to frustration and eventually stress for we may take a lot of time comparing them but end up not reaching our last option. In short, being provided with a vast amount of information, instead, paralyses our decision-making ability.

To sum up, despite being provided with a diversity of options, we still find it hard to decide which is the most suitable for us. Hence, as we are living in a pool of choices, it is perhaps better for us to have a wise decision and eliminate the unnecessary choices.