A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honor, kindness, and trust, no longer seem important.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Trust, generosity, and other moral values are among the most vital characteristics many people use to judge others. However, it is argued that people’s evaluation of others has currently been inclined toward their wealth and social status. From my perspective, I am totally against this argument.

One reason making me believe that one should not be judged by their wealth is that it does not reveal who exactly that person is. If all affluent people were considered perfect, then many of them such as celebrities would not be involved in scandals or spotted and criticised by the public for their misbehaviours. Many of the most recent instances can be found on social networking sites in which public figures, many of whom are well-judged for both their prosperity and wide influence, disappoint their followers through their immoral actions such as showing disrespect to other people or uttering arguments that provoke the public’s anger. Hence, one may be rich or have high social status, but it does not mean his other aspects are perfect.

Due to the above mentioned fact, the moral quality of a person remains to be a crucial factor for judgment today. This can be easily recognised through his actions; for example, one can express generosity towards other people by helping them financially or mentally. No matter what quality a person shows, he still gains respect from many people, especially from his loved ones, for having the person to whom he demonstrates one or many of his positive moral values or even a community benefitted. Therefore, these moral values are prioritised by a large number of employers when recruiting new staff.

In conclusion, not all wealthy people or those with large influence are well-behaved. Hence, to me, old-fashioned qualities never lose their importance in judging a person.