A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honor, kindness, and trust, no longer seem important.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Many people argue that the worth of a person is being judged by social placement and the wealthy. Personally, I completely disagree with this view because other factors, such as great behavior and honesty, are still of great importance when judging someone.

To begin with, the main reason why social status and richness are important to determine the value of an individual is the way he earns his accomplishments. It is commonly known that the rich include people who are both talented and intelligent. They are usually given responsibility for crucial tasks that others cannot shoulder. As a result, these individuals quickly gain higher salaries as well as more prestigious social status for their contributions to society. For instance, the richest man on Earth, Elon Musk is admired because of his material possessions and his status as the CEO of Tesla.

Apart from the practical benefits expressed above, I believe that the worth of a person such as honor, honesty, and trust should be considered. In some way, most people form their families, raise their children to be great citizens, and protect their neighborhoods to elevate the value of themselves as well as of others. Moreover, people also build relationships based on those old-fashioned attitudes because those who have these values possess a high profile. For instance, businessmen usually search for candidates who are kind, trustworthy, and loyal as they believe their staff will bring more value to the company. Therefore, the original behavior is really important in proving a person’s worth.

In conclusion, for the reasons I have mentioned above, I strongly believe that richness and social placement are not the way to judge someone. In fact, some old-fashioned values are better ways to determine a person.