A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honor, kindness and trust, no longer seem important.

It is a common belief that the value of a person is courted by social status or their property. At the same time, some people think that the other factors such as trust, kindness and honor are not crucial. This essay will discuss about the disagreement of the opinion that social status and material possessions is a measurement of a person’s value.

First of all, the way using property and social status to judged somebody quite popular in the last few decades as the envy of human. People influence a lot by others, especially the rich and celebrities. The way celebrities dressed really flashy and people want to imitate them. However, this does not show their values is better than the others. For example, in Viet Nam, many famous people invited donations from the public for good purpose such as build school for mountainous children or help victims of disease but recently, they were caught by defrauded of all the donations. This means famous and material possessions cannot judge people.

By contrast, many people are respected by their characteristic. To illustrate, Vo Nguyen Giap is one of the most respected person in Viet Nam not because of his richness. All Vietnamese are respect him until now for his valuable dedication to the independence of VietNam.

In summary, people cannot be measured by their property and famous. The characteristic such as honor and kindness would be the best way to elevate a person.