Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

To many people, the extinction of various animals and plants is the predominant threat to the environment. However, critics claim that problems such as climate change and air pollution are more worth-considering. While I advocate that the fall in some species results in many negative consequences to human life, I consider climate change to be more significant.

The loss in a number of kinds of animal has driven the environment and human life into severe danger. This triggers volatility in the food chains of particular species which eventually results in further reduction in the biodiversity. To illustrate this, when some kinds of animals die out, their disappearance from the food chain lead to the depletion of the food source of their predators. As a consequence, more animals begin to die due to the lack of food. Furthermore, the decline of several types of animals also means our food source is scarcer. This leads to the surge in food prices and ultimately end up with extreme food insecurities in poor regions.

Despite how devastating the fall in biodiversity brings about to the environment and us, climate change is a far more pressing threat. First, the variation in weather and temperature is the key factor to the dying out of many animal and plant species due to them being unable to adapt with the dramatic fluctuation of the climate. Besides, such change makes natural disasters occur more frequently which poses destructive impacts on the wildlife habitats as well as our human civilization. Events like earthquakes and tsunamis have been wiping out many forests and causing critical infrastructure damage and casualties.

In conclusion, both the fall in animal species and the alteration in climate are urgent threats to the environment. Personally, I believe that if the weather problems is solved, the biodiversity will potentially be protected.