Spoken communication is more powerful than written communication. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Spoken communication is believed to outweigh its counterpart for its importance. However, I totally disagree with this point of view and believe that both of them are equally crucial for our everyday activities.

Due to being time-saving and effective in many aspects of transferring information, oral communication is being facilitated in almost all social activities. It enables emotional connections between involved parties which apparently allows them to convey a wide range of information. In other words, a phrase articulated can be differently understood according to either the feelings applied on or the tone used. Besides, since sophisticated words, phrases or expressions are rarely used in talks and it is easy for a partner to ask for an explanation or a rephrase of the question, hardly do misunderstandings occur in verbal communication. Thus, people often engage verbally when they are making purchases in market or gathering for a meeting.

Written language, however, also plays a pivotal role when it comes to exchanging and keeping long-winded and detailed information. As it is difficult to take in all details that have been previously discussed, it is advisable to jot down all of them in paper for necessary future references. Thus, in typical environments such as classrooms, students are required to note down what is verbally conveyed by the teacher that is not mentioned in textbooks so that they can rely on it as a tool to deal with challenging subject problems. Books are also a prevalent example of effective written communication for they are a accumulation of insights that the experienced want to pass down to the inexperienced.

In summary, both transferring details through talks or documents have their respective responsibilities in our daily life. Therefore, I believe that without any of them, we will be living in a society with no information.