In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case?

Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

Having a roof over the head is one of the basic necessities, whether it is rented or owned. As a matter of fact, in many nations people believe it is essential to own a home instead of living in rented ones. I personally agree with the idea and will put forth the reasons in the following essay.

To begin with, having own home has several advantages. People do not have to worry about rent and the rules and regulations associated with the place, which reduces stress to certain extent. Some senior citizens believe, it is a means of securing the future of the upcoming generations and the latter can focus on their growth, in careers and education, without having to worry about shelter. For instance, in countries like Bangladesh people prefer to build building which not only provides a home but also ensures a source of income from the rents of other apartments.

However, there are few disadvantages of owning a home. While in rented apartments the security of the apartment is the responsibility of the landlord, this becomes the responsibility of home owners. This requires owners to invest a considerable amount in securing their residences including the hiring of a security guard. In addition, the landlords have to should the responsibility for maintenance work like keeping the water tanks clean whereas in owned homes it is the duty of the owners and becomes troublesome when an emergency arises, such as water pipe leakage, causing disruption in a planned days’ work.

To sum up, although having a personal resident has some cons, the benefits of having mental peace and security outweighs them greatly.