In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way.

Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Advertisements are an essential part of marketing that businesses use to promote their products to potential customers. Recently, businesses have begun to highlight ways in which their products are novel as compared to others, in order to reach out to more customers with varying choices. I believe this to be a movement towards positive development and the reasons will be discussed in the following essay.

There could be a variety of reasons for companies to promote novelty of their products. Firstly, they will be able to cater to a diverse group of people. Secondly, consumers will get better quality products which might not have been available previously and without advertisement the latter would not have known about it. For instance, it has been reported when certain company advertised shampoos that will not hurt the toddlers eye and is strawberry flavored, many parents switched from their traditional shampoos to the new one for not only for the burn free effect but also the sweet alluring fragrance.

Nonetheless, this form of advertisement has several benefits to it. Customers have the option to choose from a variety of products. For instance, a new version of Olay was launched with anti-aging properties and was expensive while keeping the normal Olay. This not only allowed premium users to purchase better quality products but a certain proportion of normal users also found a good value for their money. While these advertisements attract customers to their products, the companies gain more profit and the amount spent on research and production is retrieved from the market.

To sum up, promoting the novelty of products via advertisements to the mass public not only creates awareness about their benefits but also allows consumers to choose from various options while helping the companies to attain more profits.