Many working people get little or no exercise either during the working day or in their free time, and have health problems as a result.

Why do many working people not get enough exercise?

What can be done about this problem?

Leading a sedentary lifestyle is becoming a significant public health issue.It has been observed that people who do desk jobs have little to no physical activity, which in turn affects their health, in a number of ways.

It has been reported that people with sedentary lifestyle tends to become obese or overweight, which in turn results in problems like cardiovascular diseases, stroke, diabetes and even cancer due to the impaired body’s ability to control blood sugar level, regulate blood pressure and breakdown fat. Sitting for longer durations reduces the rate of metabolism and thus the food eaten is processed at a slower rate.

Another health hazard that occurs is the reduction of bone density and skeletal muscles mass which may lead to pain in the body.

Although it is challenging to make time for exercises, some activities can be included in conventional activities, such as taking the stairs instead of the elevator, moving away from the desk every 30 minutes, walking around when talking on the phone or opting for a standing desk.

Some researchers have reported this type of lifestyle also has significant detrimental effects on the mental health leading to depression, stress and anxiety.

In conclusion, though the busy lifestyle of the desk job does not allow much flexibility to set aside some time to work out but to live a health, disease free life people must find ways to involve enough activities in their routine to make up for the time they spend working at their desks.