In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

Recently, shopping centers are emerging as the most popular place for people to purchase their necessary items, as a result of which the small locals shops have been impacted in a negative way. This essay aims to discuss the negative effects of these developments before finally suggesting some ideas to sustain local shops.

There are several reasons for the shopping complexes and malls to become a favourite spot for shopping. The mall houses several stores in one place which make it convenient for people to purchase all their daily essentials in the shortest possible time. Take grocery, for instance, the stores are placed in a way where if a customer does not find their desired item in one shop they can easily go to the next shop without walking a long distance.

Furthermore, there are many options to choose from. The large shopping complexes offer a variety of items to choose from, including foreign products. This not only gives the customers a range of options to decide from or experiment with new products but also they can easily access their favourite brands. In addition, there are many staff available to provide support and knowledge about the products that are unknown to people. For instance, some beauty products come with an authentic seal and may not be available in the local markets due to the high cost and low demand of the product.

However, small shops can work on their accessibility to raise their popularity as well. Shop owners can make a survey or talk to the local people on their preferred items and stocking their shops with those products. More staff could be hired who will cater to the consumers queries and provide their required product.

To conclude, from the preceding analysis it is evident that shopping centres have more number of stores under their wing as well as a variety of products together with a host of staff to guide them. Hence, it is imperative for consumers to be attracted to these places. I sincerely believe if the above suggested steps are taken into action the local shops will also sustain for a long time.