In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or negative development?

Certainly, it is a fact that a growing number of Hypermarkets has been opened in the past few years, which are attracting more people to shop there. Due to these recent changes, many small native shops have to shut the business and have suffered losses. However, this change has also brought many other opportunities to the small vendors, which I am going to discuss in this essay.

On the one hand, big shopping malls provide a range of products under one roof. A person has not to go far at different shops to do shopping for various items. For example, one can buy toys, clothes, groceries, medicines, fruits and vegetables, and many more at a single place in the supermarkets. However, this comfort is not given by the local shops. The public has to go to different stores for the shopping of different categories of items. Additionally, megastores also provide the comfort of shopping in any season, namely rainy, summer, or winter, without the season's adverse impact on health. For above these reasons supermarkets seem more lucrative to the people.

On the other hand, people from less privileged backgrounds cannot use these large shopping centres. Thus, they go to the small native shops for their shopping and it provides opportunities for local vendors to price their items for every wage group of people. Indeed, the local shops do not have much money to rent a space in the hypermarkets, but definitely, they can use the marketing ideas of megastores to look appealing in very similar ways. For instance, marketing ideas such as, various promotional offers and schemes, different price ranges for all income groups, and various brands and better quality of items for better word of mouth.

To conclude, megastores provide facility to shop different product categories under one roof as well as it gives the comfort of shopping in every season. Not to forget that it also creates many job opportunities for the native people. However, this is not the case with local shops, but local vendors can use the marketing ideas of supermarkets to expand their presence. Therefore, in my view, the positive developments of supermarkets outweigh the negative developments.