In recent years many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping Is this a positive or a negative development

Although the disappearance of many small shops would bring some disadvantages to the residents nearby, the emergence of big shopping malls reflects a more positive development of the society as my concern.

As a fan of 7/11 convenience store, I contend that the small shops around the community offer the people living there high-quality daily neccessities in time. Maybe just for a band-aid to cure the cut on finger, people would not drive for miles to buy it in Costoco, with their bleeding hands. This unique convenience will never be overlooked since people do not shop at large shopping center every day.

However, big shopping mall is the symbol of metropolitan, a great stride of the city. In China, when we were thinking of the big shopping mall ten years ago, we may name some big places like Los Angeles outlets or Dubai mall. Nowadays, hundreds of outlets with thousands of famous brands appeared in many cities in China, which is the result of civilization and modernization. With so many stores togehter, people would purchase various kinds of things easily.

Furthermore, big shopping center redefined people's daily life style, letting them have more choices to go out for shopping and happiness together, rather than shopping online. Becuase not only the commodities but also superior services are offered in these big shopping centers. Firstly, children can play at the palygrounds inside the big shopping mall. Second, there are also many restaurants for people to enjoy various kinds of cuisines. Moreover, movie theaters, book stores and coffee shops are becoming more and more popular in the shopping center, where are the new socialzing places for people.

In all, even the number of the small shops is declining these years, they will survive since we need them for convenience. As for the big ones, they represent the future and offer us not only with shopping but also more tertiary industry services.