In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping.

Is this a positive or a negative development?

A sense of disparity is created between the local shops and high-end shopping centers, due to which the people are more attracted to the malls rather than native shops to do their needful. I believe it is neither a negative nor a positive change.

For the past few years, a variety of shopping malls and centers have been opened up for the public considering their need for upgraded fashion and ease of buying everything at one place. It is definitely a positive development for the economy of the country as the people are aiding to their use. Malls have opened up new employment for the people and provided a source of income for them. Shopping centers add to the aesthetic of the area as they are designed in a particular way using the landscape to attract people.

Although, these new centers are having an adverse effect on the local businesses. People are comparing the two in terms of quality, price range, quantity locality and so on. People are okay paying extra in the centers or mall rather than shopping at the locale. The local businesses are losing their source of income and are trying to find new ways to cope. We need to remember that we live in a country where there are more people in the lower economy sector and the shopping centers or malls don’t cater to them. Hence they end up closing their businesses and taking up a job at such centers if need be.

In conclusion we need to stop focusing on one part of the society and encourage everyone to invest in local business along with malls and shopping centers.