Some people say that parents should encourage their children to take part in organized group activities in their free time. Others say that it is important for children to learn how to occupy themselves on their own.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Children are curious minds with energetic bodies. One must encourage them to maintain a balance between both right from the young age. This will help the children manage and achieve their goals in adulthood.

Parents often want their kids to socialize with other children so that they learn from each other. The children in a controlled environment tend to depend on each other which makes them liable for each other. It incriminates a sense of responsibility in them. Considering this factor, people have started encouraging play-dates for their children. These play-dates are arranged after school to avoid slacking in school. Parents arrange certain activities for the kids on these play-dates like for example, team games, a sports activity etcetera. This helps the children to learn about their surroundings and how they change with respect to certain factors along with understanding other children’s behavior.

On the other hand, some parents want their children to achieve a sense of control over their minds and body. In this case, the children are taught how to not be alone when they are alone. For instance, children are encouraged to spend their time reading books or watching documentaries. This helps them acquire knowledge about certain things in particular. Their minds become sharp and rational thinking is encouraged.

In my opinion, the approach should differ from children to children as not everyone is of the same IQ level or have the same physical strength. The parents should be able to decide which path to take as per their children’s behavior and not force them to do either of it because they think it is right for their children.