You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Modern communications mean that it’s no longer necessary to write letters.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

Technological advancements have enhanced the ways of communication due to which it is easier to get things done than before. However, it might have impacted negatively on the traditional system of communicating via post or hand-written mail. I believe, the two systems can used equally depending on the usage.

Nowadays, people communicate with each other on a daily basis with the help phone calls, texts; if it is for official reasons electronic mails or third-party softwares developed for video-calling are used. The life of the common man or woman has improved due to such facilities available right at their doorstep. For instance, earlier all the bank communications such as acquiring bank statements or applying for a new chequebook, were done in-person due to techonological restrictions, but now everything is possible by just tapping a few icons on your mobile. You can call the customer care service if faced by any difficulty.

On the other hand, too much dependency on the technology can be mundane. for essential services it is right to make use of technology, but what fun is that while sending an email to your distant friends for staying in touch or making pen-pals for that matter. In my opinion, people who are not techsavvy, and quite uncomfortable with technology will certainly choose the traditional option. For example, a senior citizen wanting to connect with her friend, whom she has not spoken to in years would want to write her a letter as she will feel the warmth of her friends emotions and be more overwhelmed as compared to receiving a mail.

To conclude, the usage of modern means of getting in touch with people and the traditional way of writing letters are both equally essential depending on one's comfort and ease.