Modern communications mean that it’s no longer necessary to write letters.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

This is a fact that modernization and technology has made everything faster. Many individuals think that writing letters is an outdated mode of communication and in these days innovative ways of communicating are used by majority of people. While i believe that now automation has provide more instant ways of sending and receiving messages, the importance of letters can not be overlooked which are still preferred by some departments.

On the one hand, there are effecting methods of communication among people that has provided by the technology. Firstly, in this contemporary era most of the people are occupied with cell phones as well as internet and wifi services as masses can not imagine their lives without portable devices that allows them to contact other people in case of emergency. Therefore, people can make calls on mobiles immediately nowadays instead of wasting time on composing letters. Secondly, numerous platforms are available for people that are cost -effective such as WhatsApp, facebook, instagram, twitter as well as text messaging. Most importantly, it does not only allows individuals to write messages electronically but also share pictures, documents and video clips. That is why, instead of creating gap in communication by letter writing, these applications and social websites are used by everyone. Finally, the technical advancements have emerged in every sector of life such as health care, education, business and commerce as all these fields require an effective two way communication for the smooth running of the activities.

On the other hand, despite of having various attractive options still some individuals rely on writing letters. First of all, many government departments accept official letters from other authorities rather than communicating electronically as this seems more formal than sending message on smart phones. Moreover, they can protect their privacy in this way because posting things online may be misused by public. Besides this, youngsters are exposed to technology and can use application in a better way than senior citizens as they depend upon writing letters and are not familiar with automation and using computers and tablets.

To conclude, although people can choose any mode of communication as per their interest and tastes in this materialistic world, a few individuals still prefer to write physical letters.