Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In the contemporary society, advertisements have evolved with the taste of people in order to hone in more customers and sell their products. Some people think that this form of marketing is effective in convincing people to purchase their products while others are of the opinion that it has become so common no one pays attention. I personally side with the former and will put forth the reasons in the following essay.

To begin with, there are numerous reasons as to why advertisements are still able to convince customers. Due to the evolution of advertising with time and technology, the contents have become more eye catching and are displayed in a way which compels the viewers to watch them. For instance, in an ad where two women sitting on a swing all decked up, it is difficult to predict what is happening and the viewers interest are piqued to find out the product, until one of them draws out a delicious chocolate filled cookie. Furthermore, when people are stuck in traffic for hours the big screen advertisements become a reason to spend the time, thereby noting a few products.

However, the cause of certain advertisements being ignored are few. Some advertising agencies believe in the traditional method of marketing displaying the same type of ads over and over which causes the audience to lose interest and ends up being ignored altogether. In fact, there are quite a few ads are so dull, it fails to hold peoples’ attention even for a few seconds and hence fail to sell their products.

To sum up, advertisements will be successful if their content is interesting and has a captivating story to it; otherwise it will end up being ignored by the public.