You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Many foods are shipped from far away. Some people think that eating local food is more environmentally and economically. Do you think the advantages outweigh its disadvantages?

It has become quite common these days to see products being shipped off and imported from distant places. Although some people argue that consuming locally grown food would be more beneficial than importing them, there are several benefits of consuming a variety of food items apart from local food. This essay will delve into the pros and cons of the notion before finally giving a personal opinion.

To begin with, there are certainly numerous advantages of eating foods brought from off shore. People will find more variations of food items, such as vegetables, which will motivate them to eat better and healthier. Some foods may have more nutrition value than locally grown food which will further enhance their strength.

However, foods grown locally have their share of benefits as well. They are less expensive compared to the food that are shipped from distant land, as they are grown within the area and does not require transportation cost or taxes. Furthermore, the food are more organic and do not contain any preservatives or chemicals to increase their shelf life but with strict policies in place the amount of chemicals can be reduced to a minimum. While these advantages are noteworthy, people will easily get side tracked from these as there is a limited variation in the food that is consumed.

To conclude, although foods shipped from far are expensive and may contain certain amount of chemical, they still inspire people to add new items to their diet due to their variations that is not available in locally grown foods. Hence, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.