Many foods are shipped from far away. Some people think that eating local food is more environmentally and economically. Do you think the advantages outweigh its disadvantages?

Exports and imports of the exotic fruits and vegetables is not a new thing these days. However, many believe that consuming local cuisines is more economical and environment friendly. I completely disagree with this view and this essay will elaborate it further.

There are certain advantages of eating foreign vegetation. Firstly, the health benefits of some vegetation is hard to ignore. For instance, fruits like Dragon fruit and avocado are difficult to produce in regions like India, yet its consumption by Indians in beneficial to their health and so its intake becomes essential part of diet. Secondly, the economy of some countries are based on these imports and exports. The shipping industries makes a great profit out of it. In addition, the rare availability of such items makes them expensive which in turn aids the farmers in earning more than farming the local crops. Lastly, today a variety of foods is a bait used to lure foodies to the hotels and restaurants. Thus, increasing income in food business.

On the other side, there are some downside to these to and fro of goods. As the demand of such food is increased, the farming is also increased to cope with the supply. As a result, a shortage of farming land and internal dispute among farmers are a common consequnces. For example, a land used for growing the superfoods like quinoa becomes barren after few crops of the plant, rendering the land unsuitable for cultivation of any other crops and converting the region into dry desserts.

In conclusion, despite some downside of the exporting of foreign food the merits certainly outweighs the demerits. However, there are some environmental drawbacks, but the outstanding economical benefits overshadows the problem.