Some people think that spending a lot on holding wedding parties, birthday parties and other celebrations is just a waste of money. Others, however, think that these are necessary for individuals and the society. Discuss

It is a common belief that organizing extravagant parties and events is an improper use of finances while some people argue these celebrations are essential for individuals as well as the society. This essay will further discuss both the views in detail.

Rich people are not hesitant to hold lavish parties. To maintain a status symbol in this sophisticated world, wealthy businessmen and corporates often celebrate various occasions like birthdays and anniversaries by organizing grand events. To cite an example, recently Mukesh Ambani, an eminent business personality was in news for spending crores of money for his daughter's wedding. Such events bring happiness among people who are attending it and also provide a platform for social gatherings. However, these costly events consume a lot of funds which could have been used for other benefits.

According to some people, money utilized in holding these events is a complete waste. Instead this amount could have been used for betterment of the underprivileged. For instance, one of my friends on his birthday every year, donates a certain sum of money to an orphanage rather than throwing a party. Such initiatives would help to eradicate social issues and will make our society a better place to live. Thus, the best way to spend money is to make its worth a while by doing something productive rather than a showing off.

To sum up, it can be reiterated that spending huge sums on mere festivities is a waste of money. Nevertheless, funds should be spent on social well being of poor people as well as for improvement of the community.