The threat of nuclear weapons maintains world peace. Nuclear power provides cheap and clean energy. The benefits of nuclear technology far outweigh the disadvantages. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

These days, public debate has been going on over whether the merits of nuclear power overshadows its devastating implications. I believe that, although nuclear technology has certain disadvantages but its judicious use is beneficial to the mankind. This essay will discuss my opinion in detail.

With rampant utilization of natural resources, nuclear energy is a boon. Extensive use of oil, coal and fossil fuels for energy generation has lead to its depletion, which in turn impacts environment drastically. This results in global warming and natural catastrophies like floods, erupting volcanoes and others of that ilk. Therefore, it is mandatory to replace traditional means of energy consumption with advance technologies.

Nuclear energy is economical as well as harmless to nature if used righteously. Moreover, a small amount of nuclear charge is able to produce more than twice the energy compared to conventional sources. Consequently, the reduction in natural resources will come under control.

On the other hand, it is believed that after the first nuclear bomb attack on Hirosima and Nagasaki of Japan, political systems across the world is afraid to use it for this purpose. The damage done by these weapons is terrifying and ever-lasting, which a country may not be able to recover in decades. Hence, it is advisable to stay alert and prepared for a nuclear war but the likelihood of its happening is minimal.

All in all, nuclear energy despite of having dangerous impacts, if used intellectually, it can be a blessing in disguise for human beings.