Many people believe that increasing levels of violence on television and in films is having a direct result on levels of violence in society. Others claim that violence in society is the result of more fundamental social problems such as unemployment.

How much do you think society is affected by violence in the media?

It is true to say that the criminal activities has increased in the recent years. Although, many people believe that such behavior is inspired from crime movies and TV shows, others opine that it is a consequence of unemployment. Both the arguments have validity, but I am in favor of the former view and in this essay I will explain my perspective in detail.

Undoubtedly, digital media are responsible for rampant violent activities. To begin with, there has been a surge in violent movies and reality shows depicting negativity, which consequently affects the mental thinking of individuals who are dedicated viewers of such shows. For instance, ratings of sitcoms like Big boss or Roadies, broadcasting nefarious behavior and abusive languages are at peak. Meanwhile, educational programs and other entertainment media are receiving less profit, forcing them to create a content which would bag them a viewership. As a result, more and more serials with violent content are released, resulting in a community filled with rage and anger.

On the other hand, it has been suggested that the reason behind this ruthlessness among people is due to unemployment. Certainly, an unhealthy work environment and job dissatisfaction would coerce an employee to leave the job and consequently this might influence a person to choose the wrong path. Whilst there is some truth in this assertion, but it is not a common scenario with everyone.

In conclusion, human beings are clearly influenced by what they see on screen rather than their own personal issues like unemployment.