Playing team sports at school can teach students a number of lessons that are useful outside of sport. What values can students learn from playing team sports? How can they apply these values in the future?

It is true to suggest that schools should encourage their students to participate in various group activities such as sports, to cultivate different abilities which would be helpful to them while growing up in life. This essay will further highlight some lessons that a child can grasp by indulging in team sports as well as their application in the future.

Multiplayer outdoor games like basket ball, cricket and others of that ilk helps a child to develop leadership quality, learn management skills and improves their decision making power. For instance, the captain of a sports team is responsible to lead the team in right direction as well keeping in mind the strengths of players, has to manage all teammates and also make correct decisions during the game. These values, however sophistically portrayed in books, must be learned only through practical experiences and thus, it is essential to play such team sports at school level.

Moreover, these skills will become vital for an individual in his professional as well as personal life. Needless to say, a Manager of a prestigious company is expected to handle the staff appropriately and in these conditions his or her leadership qualities and managerial abilities will be tested. On the other hand, humans are always required to make important life decisions and when someone is not good at deciding the crucial aspects of life, there will be bad consequences which would in turn impact the family members of the decision maker. Therefore, it is essential to learn these values at a very young age and preferably at school level along with the theoretical knowledge.

In summary, playing team sports for a student is a good thing as it helps them to cater values which would be useful in their future endeavors.