in many countries, paying for things using mobile phone (cell phone) apps is becoming increasingly common.

Does this development have more advantages or more disadvantages?

Nowadays, e-payment once a thing for rich people has now become more. Needless to say, the use of digital devices for payments has surged drastically within a short time span. This essay will discuss the positive and negative aspects of using mobile phones as a tool for paying bills.

There are many advantages contributing to the popularity of this trend. Handy gadgets has made purchasing hassle free. Clearly, with the invent of mobile applications like, Paytm and Google pay, the need to carry physical cash for buying goods is obsolete. In addition, the constant fear of loosing money while carrying hard cash is also eliminated by adapting this trend. Moreover, these apps also provide lucrative cashbacks and discounts that encourage users to opt for online payment. Also, keeping a tab on monthly expenses has becomes simple as a person can view history of his spendings through these apps on their cell phones.

On the contrary, there are certain drawbacks to this mode of payment. The number of cyber thefts is skyrocketing each year, owing to the popularity of digital money. Certainly, there are cyber crime divisions established by the government but, there are still many unresolved cyber thefts which puts a question mark on how much safe it is to use these mere phone apps for transferring huge funds to some unknown merchandise. Another drawback is an unaccountable shopping. When a person is not bound with a fixed amount of cash and is free to make purchase with facility of online payment, the expenditure increase to a greater extent, which in turn contribute to unneccesary money loss.

To sum up, it can be reiterated, increasing use of mobiles for payments has gained popularity and in my opinion the merits of this development outweighs the demerits.