Successful companies use advertisements to make more sales. What can make an advertisement effective? Do you think advertisements are a bad thing or a good thing for society?

Advertisments are often used by multinational companies to lure more buyers and consequently increase their productivity. An effective marketing of a product can bag profit to the successful industrial giant. In such scenarios, it becomes difficult to judge whether the advertisments have a good or bad implication on society.

Today, a lot of fortune is spend on branding and advertising of a product. In this competitive era it is essential to stand out. Companies are desperate to show off their goods. Therefore, people are bombarded with the adverts in the form of TV commercials, hoardings, flyers and online ads. Moreover, sometimes they are willing to conduct a survey to know the needs of people and design products accordingly. For instance, after ordering food online from applications like zomato, it is mandatory to rate the service and food along with a descriptive review. Such initiatives not only makes advertising effective but also benefits to people as well as the service providers.

Although, sometimes advertising sets a bad precedent too. To begin with, sales and discounts always attracts the customers to buy things they do not require. Secondly, too much advertising causes competition in the market and thus the local shops and vendors incur losses.

However, adverts are a persuasive medium and if used judiciously it can contribute to society greatly. For instance, campaigns like 'beti bachao, beti bhadhao' and 'AIDS awareness campaigns' would send a positive message to the community.

All in all, it is true that many companies are utilizing advertisments to increase their financial gains while overlooking its impacts on society. Nevertheless, a thoughtful application of an effective marketing strategy could be extremely helpful.