Young people today are often less polite and show less respect than previous generations. Why do you think this is? What can be done to solve this problem?

Modernization and adaptation of western culture in the society have changed the way of thinking in youngsters drastically. Consequently, young generations have annoyingly rude and disrespectful towards their elders. This essay will discuss why this is happening and put forward several solutions for this issue.

To begin with, the concept of nuclear families and busy work schedule has made individuals less sensitive, unsympathetic, depressed and frustrated. Neither parent nor grandparents are available for their children to preach them the importance of moral values and as a result, more and more teenagers are becoming ill-mannered and often lack discipline. For instance, it was customary, in older times, to take blessings of seniors before starting the day, but today such practices have become obsolete. Therefore, it is critical to devise particular steps to tackle this matter.

Parents and teachers should jointly work out to solve this problem effectively. At an elementary level, schools should encourage students to take up subjects like moral science and motivate them to indulge in voluntary work which involves dealing with older people. Such exposure would help children to understand the importance of hardships people go through and respect them for their hard work. Secondly, parents should make sure their child visits his or her grandparents regularly so the bond of love and respect does not get lost among them. In addition, a child witnessing his or her parents respecting their elders would leave positive impositions in their young minds.

In conclusion, it can be reiterated that young people today are disrespectful and impolite compared to the older generation. Although, there is scope of improvement, provided parents and teachers work together to solve this matter for the sake of better future generations.