Some people feel the best way to reduce the number of accidents on the road is to further limit the speed of vehicles. Others think that there are better ways to tackle this issue. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Traffic congestion and road side accidents are rampant these days. Therefore, to eliminate these issues, a reduction in speed limit is suggested by many while others opine that there are more effective options available to tackle such problems. This essay will discuss both the views before reaching a conclusion.

Fixing a speed limit on cars and heavy motor vehicles can be beneficial but hard to implement. Clearly, individuals who drive fiercly because they are late for a meeting or a job interview, would change their habits by such impositions. However, these changes will not contribute much towards the large number of incidents happening every day. Hence, strict solutions should be recommended.

The usual road mishaps are generally associated with rash driving by youngsters or truck drivers and hence, imposing a law to punish these people will be helpful in lowering the rates of unfortunate events. For instance, drunk driving and crimes such as murder due to improper driving, shall be sentenced for 10 years or more of prision time else a hefty fine according to seriousness of the happenings shall be decided.

Another solution is to install security cameras on accident prone zones and monitor day to day traffic on these locations vehemently. These recordings would help the traffic police to determine the actual root cause of the accidents and further take appropriate action accordingly.

To summarize, in my opinion, it is important to keep a watch on speed limit of vehicles but there are many better ways to lower the rates of the accidents which can be implemented along with, to achieve desired results.