Some people say that it is possible to tell a lot about a person's culture and character from their choice of clothes. Do you agree or disagree?

Clothes are one of the most important accessories that humans possess. It is commonly believed that an individual's dressing style reveals a lot about their traditions, religion and behavior. However, in my perspective, the choice of cloth may give some idea regarding a person's religion and culture but, fail to judge his or her characteristics. This essay will discuss my point of view in detail before reaching to any conclusion.

With the social advancements in society, more and more people prefer to wear clothes that are trend setting. Consequently, the popularity of regional clothing is decreasing. For instance, san is an Indian formal wear but due to modernization most females do not wear it anymore. In such circumstances, it becomes difficult to differentiate people belonging to various religions.

Although, people do wear their traditional outfits during celebrations but it will not provide a clear picture of the customs they follow. To illustrate, in Gujarat during the festival of navratri, people from all over the world despite of different castes dress up in gujarati traditional wear and so there is no demarcation of religion at such times.

On the other hand, judgment of an individual's character by the way he or she dresses in unjust. A person may like to experiment with his or her clothing. Because of this, their dressing sense may seem odd to normal public but it does not mean that they are characterless people. To site an example, actor and models are often witnessed wearing funky attire. As, it is part of their profession to dress up in such manner, it would be wrong to make any notions regarding their style of fashion.

In summary, it is difficult to conclude a person's behavior, character and culture based on their external appearances in today's society. Opinions based on externalities are usually unreliable.