Some people say that it is possible to tell a lot about a person's culture and character from their choice of clothes.

Do you agree or disagree?

Certainly, it is a fact that a few decades ago, individuals used to dress traditionally to convey the culture of the provinces, or religions. However, nowadays, where the young generation is following a unique fashion in their daily wear, it hardly remains a question of culture and character from their choice of outfits. Therefore, I firmly disagree with the aforesaid statement.

On the one hand, it is easy to know the culture of people, if they dress traditionally as per the locality. Additionally, it is also common to understand the culture of people, if they dress religiously. However, in both above cases, it is difficult to predict the character of persons because the character is navigated by minds, rather than the clothes. For instance, there may be ten numbers of women in a Muslim family, who use veils to cover themselves. However, all those ten women would not be the same in characters and behaviours.

On the other hand, in a country, such as India, where foods, languages, cultures, and dresses keep changing every few miles, one cannot depict the culture and character from it. At present, individual fashion and choice of outfits are changing as per their comfort. women and men both prefer to wear dresses as per the occasions. For example, a growing number of women are increasingly choosing to wear western outfits in offices or parties because it provides an infinite degree of comfort, which traditional dresses cannot provide. On the contrary, the same group of women prioritise wearing traditional dresses as per the festive season demands. Therefore, in such cases, it is hard to predict the culture and character of a group of individuals.

To conclude, I somewhat agree that traditional dresses are useful to know the culture of some people. However, in major cases, it cannot be predicted because nowadays individuals are changing their lifestyles, and also preferring to wear the dress as per comfort zone and occasions.