One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing.

Do you think the advantages of the outweigh the disadvantages?

There is no doubt that better medical care has added many benefits to people life. Improved medical care has lightened the lamp of living longer in the heart of many of us. However, I believe that it has summed up more disadvantages to society.

To begin with, high-end technology used in medical care are providing better facilities and cures to patients because of which they are living longer. However, it is one of the reasons for the lowering of mortality rate and hence, increasing population. Due to overpopulation in our society youth are not getting placed at their right age in life. There is more demand for experience holders than freshers; which leads to an increase in unemployment.

Moreover, medically unfit or old age people cannot contribute to society in major forms due to lack of energy or health reasons. They live on medical care for the long term and therefore, it's difficult for them to take part in social causes.

For example, according to the data published in the Indian newspaper TOI, the voluntary participants in India at the time of the COVID-19 pandemic spread from the period between April-20 to June-20 were youngsters aged between 25 to 35. Mostly, these age group people are free from illness and full of enthusiasm owing to their good immune and no medical dependency.

Secondly, nowadays the young generation is themselves occupied in raising their children and family. In such cases, children do not have time to take care of their parents, which is increasing the disappointment and mental illness in old people.

Additionally, old people are witnessing the disappearance of traditional culture in a young generation which makes a family impossible to live together due to the cultural gap.

For instance, Old-age firms are rapidly increasing in numbers and parents prefer to stay there owing to no attention from their children. It again adds a burden to society.

To conclude, I firmly agree that improved medical care has helped us to make this place a better world. An increase in life expectancy has given old people to see their growing juveniles and grandchildren doing good in their life. However, it has contributed many negative consequences as well namely, overpopulation, low mortality rate, unemployment and many more, which overweight its advantages.