Employer sometimes ask people, applying for jobs, for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Many people believe that disclosing personal biodata, such as marital status, or hobbies and interest are logical and beneficial to the the companies. However, others agree that they are unethical and immoral to mention it. I firmly agree with the latter viewpoint, as it has nothing to do with work profiles.

To begin with, nowadays, a growing number of businesses have started to ask for personal background from the workers. Certainly, it helps them to make a friendly bond , and for knowing the staff more closely. However, it also has some negative consequences; what if the hobbies of a job seeker can become a possible obstacle in the job?, or what if a job aspirant is addicted of some hobbies, and sometimes, it distracts him in doing the work? For example, one of my friends was not shortlisted for an job opening because he has mentioned, playing video game as his hobby. Another example is of my co-worker, who was addicted to handle social media at workplace. However, both of them were technical sound, and fit for those jobs, but disclosing hobbies and it's addiction respectively ruined their career images. Hence, some of the personal data may sound unusual and unrealistic to the employer, and therefore, it may not worth to reveal it.

On contrary, disclosing of personal data to the companies can also be beneficial to those, who are applying for a job in the Periphery of his/her interest. A majority of people are increasingly choosing their hobbies as work areas, so that they can use requisite skills required and applicable to those jobs. For instance, my friend has chose painting as her career to further strengthen her art skills. Moreover, she is earning a handsome amount of money by selling them in the exhibitions. As a result, hobbies bring opportunities to earn.

To conclude, disclosing of personal information is only useful if the area of work has to do something with that. It may add advantages only if an employer is looking or asking for those interests, or personal information with regards to the jobs. On the other hand, unnecessarily providing of such information may mislead companies towards an unimpressive record of candidature. To me, I disagree to unmask personal information to the employers.