These days people's attention spans are becoming shorter due to the prevalence of social media.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, social media has infiltrated human lives deeply. This pervasiveness has lead to the reduction in attention spans of people. I do not concur with this statement and this essay with explain my opinion further in detail.

Undoubtedly, it is hard to replace the conveniences, like video calls and texting that a social media app provides. Adults are addicted to using these apps not only for contacting, but also for multiple purposes like making reels, watching videos and posting pictures. These feckless activities takes up too much time and most importantly impairs their brain functionality and thinking capabilities. A recent survey conducted in America shows an increase in the number of youngsters suffering from the Attention Deficit Syndrome where, it is hard for them to focus on one particular activity. However, this is not the only aspect critics are worried about.

Apart from using these applications reasons like overuse of the technology, in each and every field, is also declining the concentration of most individuals. When a person uses a gadget in the kitchen or heavy machinery in the factory he/she is reminded of the next step via a sensor or an alarm. These advancements conveniently obsolete the need to check-up on the on-going process consequently, decreasing their attentiveness. Similarly, utilization of tech in schools also has a major impact on a child’s brain development. Instead of writing, they type and learn lessons from online study materials rather than reading a book, which are believed to increase concentration power. Overall, these innovations are creating detrimental implications on our mental abilities.

In conclusion, intrusion of social media in our lives has definitely changed the way we used to think and definitely have affected our thinking patterns. But, in my opinion, technology as a whole is reason for short attention spans of humans today.