Some people believe that celebrating personal events is a waste of money. Others feel that these celebrations play an important role in the lives of individuals and in society as a whole. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Most people today think that too much money is being utilized in celebrations and festivities while others opine that such events are crucial to maintain harmony among individuals as well as within the society. This essay will further discuss both views in detail.

The concern about huge financial spends on the grand events is truly justified. In lieu of broadcasting an image of a sophisticated and a rich life, often wealthy businessman, corporate officials as well as the film stars these days are not hesitant to make extravagant spendings. For instance, recently an Indian businessman, Mukesh Ambani, has spent a fortune for his daughter’s marriage to maintain the impression of world’s richest man. Hence, the charms of flamboyant society coerce people to waste their hard earned money on mere one day celebration.

On the other hand, some people believe these social functions are vital for well being of everyone around. In addition, celebrating occasions like birthdays, wedding anniversaries or a graduation party would certainly bring joy to the person and motivate him or her to achieve more victories and celebrate them joyfully. Also, these gatherings provide an excuse for friends and relatives to meet each other once in a while and bond as a family which becomes difficult in routine days because of the hectic lifestyle.

To summarize, it is essential to indulge in celebrations and various social gatherings but it is equally important to keep a tab on the amount of money is being spent. In my opinion, these events produce a positivity among individuals and the society, however, it should be kept in mind that the party should not cost too much to the host.