Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment.

What damage does plastic do to the environment?

What can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem?

Plastic pollution is a burning issue for most nations around the globe. It damages the environment in numerous ways. Hence, to mitigate this problem governments and individuals need to come together and devise appropriate steps.

Birds, animals and vegetation are greatly affected by plastic wastes. This is because, it always finds its way either in big landfills or in the water reservoirs like lakes, rivers and ocean. Due to its non-biodegradable properties, it does not decompose and is mistakenly eaten by a fish or sometimes gets stuck in a Pigeon's neck. This causes a lot of discomfort to them and may lead to their death. Moreover, if incinerated it emits harmful particles which are not only detrimental to humans, but to the flora and fauna of the surrounding. Therefore, it has become evident to reduce its usage as its disposal is altogether a different problem to deal.

People have to unite with government for effective measures. Firstly, the state officials should ban the use of single-use bottle or disposable food packets. Packaging industries and big hotels should be charged with hefty fines for using these types of containers. Secondly, at an individual level a person needs to change the routine habit of using plastics everywhere. Not only they can replace polythene with a jute bag, but also use a steel refillable water bottle which is much more environmentally friendly than packaged drinking water.

In conclusion, plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are terrible for the environment especially for the natural beings. Further to resolve this problem society along with its administration should figure out ways to tackle this crisis.