Mobile phones and the Internet could have many benefits for old people. However, this age group uses technology the least.

What are the benefits for old people of using mobile phones and the Internet?

How can we encourage them to use this new technology?

Mobile phones and the internet have successfully provided facilities more than human kind would have ever anticipated. But, still old people are hesitant to use these digital gadgets. This essay will discuss the benefits they provide and how old people can be encouraged to utilize these inventions.

A wireless technology can be used in a lot of different ways. To begin with, they are extremely useful in keeping a check on one’s health. Especially for people in their sixties, who are suffering from diseases like blood pressure or diabetes, these devices can be utilized to check their vitals hassle-free. Furthermore, social media applications facilitates better communication and consequently, strengthening relationships. In other words, a Smartphone installed with Skype or Face-time allows the grandparents to connect with their grandchildren across the globe. Despite these merits, older people still refrain themselves from using such gadgets.

There are a few ways through which they can be persuaded to develop affinity for this new technology. Firstly, it the key responsibility of a person to teach their guardians the basics of using touch screens. Making them familiar with the various functions of an app or a browser can increase their involvement slowly but steadily. Secondly, introduce them to the world of internet where they can spend their time chatting with their friends and family. These activities will keep them engaged in their free time and help them to keep a lighter mood. As a result, the feeling of loneliness and depression among them will be reduced drastically. The more they enjoy these gadgets the more apt they become towards it.

In conclusion, despite the plethora of advantages the internet and mobile offers, they are still not readily accepted by aged persons. However, people should help around the old generation to get accustomed with this tech as it bears lots of pros.