In some countries people of all age groups are engaging in too many sports or over-exercising. Are there more advantages or drawbacks to this development?

Physical activities are crucial, especially when the world has adopted a sedentary lifestyle. Therefore, people of most countries have started to devote their time in routine sports activity or a strenuous workout to achieve a fit and healthy lifestyle. In my opinion, indulging in sports and over-exercising has more benefits than the drawbacks and this essay will further support my perspective in detail.

The main advantages of exercising are a healthy body and a calm mind. To begin with, a person starts exercising primarily to reduce weight or in other words, tackle the issue of obesity. Consequently, the individual becomes less prone to illness associated with the fat deposition. For example, a recent study shows that the men who are constantly involved in the sports activities like cricket are less likely to suffer from heart diseases. Secondly, exercises like yoga and meditation soothes the mind. In today’s turbulent times, where people are depressed or frustrated, starting the day with these types of exercises not only benefits the body but also helps the brain to attain calmness.

On the other hand, too much exercise has few demerits. Firstly, the intention of working out should purely be based on betterment of physical health and not on physical appearances. There are certain instances where a model or an actor is over-exercising just to gain muscles and look good. Such trends should not be encouraged as it sets a bad precedence. Another downside is that it can sometimes lead to an uncalled muscle strain. In some circumstances the injury from excess exercise leads to a life time muscle pain or a critical surgery.

In conclusion, the advantages of playing sports and exercising outweigh the disadvantages. However, a proper guidance and a good intention are vital for fruitful results.