Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbles and interests, and whether they are married or single.

Some people say that this Information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is true to say that a reputation of a company is in the hands of its staff. Therefore, recruiters today are keen on particular details of the aspirants they hire. Although, most people think that it is irrelevant and useless to collect personal data like hobbies and marital status of employees, others think that it is valuable information which would help a company to select a candidate for the long-term job. Personally, I am in the favor of the latter view.

It is easy to understand why an employer is interested in personal information section of a resume. Firstly, a person’s pastime activities reflect his personality traits apart from technical skills. However sound in his work, if a person lacks social skills he will find it difficult to develop a healthy workplace long-term relationship with his colleagues. This would eventually render him to reach a high-level position. Secondly, the marital status of a person says a lot about him. The way he is responsible and caring. Also, from such an individual it could be expected that they know how to remain calm and tackle the situation of conflicts instead of making any hasty arguments.

On the other hand, some people argue that qualification and work experience details are enough to make a choice for a particular job. It is certain that a relevant education and an appropriate work experience in the required field must be the priority of management while filling up a vacant position but, the fact that other information should be completely avoided is hard to grasp.

All in all, I would reiterate my statement that it is vital for any organization to gather all the information before selecting an employee as it would be beneficial to both an individual as well as the company.