Many historical sites and museums are mainly visited by tourists, not local people.

Why is this the case?

What can be done to attract local people to visit these historical sites and museums?

The main visitors of a heritage site or a museum are always tourists and seldom residents. This essay will discuss why this is happening and suggest relevant solutions to encourage locals for such visits.

It is obvious that historical sites are often considered mundane and time-consuming places. Specifically, the galleries comprise old insignificant pieces of art and history. The people residing in its vicinity are very well aware of the associated facts and myths. As a result, they avoid going to these places. Another factor to consider is a walk in a museum takes up a lot of time. Generally, local residents see tourism as a source of income. So they are not concerned about visiting the same place again and again. Instead, they would cater to the need of tourists so that they could earn some money.

On the basis of the above reasoning, comprehensive solutions are considered. The first solution is reinforcing the rule to allow free entry for locals to visit these places. For instance, at Sun Temple, the entry ticket is hefty for foreigners but nominal for Indians. It has drastically increased the number of visitors in the past few years. Another solution is educating the general public. Specifically, it is time for the government to generate awareness among people to know their heritage places. The community should promote the significance of their cultural sites. These measures will significantly promulgate the importance of such places.

In conclusion, there are various reasons for fewer visits to museums and historical sites. Nevertheless, I firmly believe that mandating a small entry fee and raising awareness concerning the importance of these sites must be taken to tackle the situation.