The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience

At present ownership of a car is a status quotient in society, resulting in a surge of private vehicles. In my opinion, use of public transport systems must be encouraged rather than travelling in personal automobile. This essay will discuss the impact of other modes of transportation over personal vehicles.

Daily commute has become a routine chore these days. The requirement of four-wheeler or a two-wheeler has become mandatory because atleast one family member in the house is bound to travel to his/her workplace. This results in increase in overall traffic in the urban areas of the country. In addition, large number of vehicles contributes to high amount of pollution which is a burning concern across the globe. Also, parking of cars and bikes, adds oil into troubled waters.

To overcome these problems, alternative forms of travelling shall be introduced. People should be persuaded to use more public transport by offering rewards and schemes. Collegues can share a cab or carpool is also a laudable approach. Moreover, inputs from the goverment officials is more effectual as people are bound to follow laws and policies. Introduction of such amendments will coerce individuals to reduce using car for short unnecessary trips. For instance, Delhi government introduced odd and even law for car usage, where an car owner according to his/her number plate is divided into specific days on which they are allowed to use cars.

In conculsion, I completely agree that using a personal vehicle is detrimental to society to a great extent over the time and emphasis on use of buses and trains should be encouraged to tackle to problems of the future.