The first car appeared on British roads in 1888 By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use To what e

Ownership of cars has been increased by twofolds in last few decades. Some argue that people should often use different transportation services rather than their personal cars. So, in order to achieve this new laws shall be implemented to reduce the number of cars owned. I totally agree that goverment shall promote public transportation by providing better services and can reduce the ownership of car by increasing the tax.

One of the leading cause of global warming is carbon emission by different automobiles. As the vehicular traffic has increased immensely, it has resulted in damaging of the environment and the air we breath. To overcome this situation, government as well as the private transportation companies can help to lower the congestion on roads by providing better commute services like buses and trams with a state of art infrastructure, people might get attracted toward it and drop the idea of using their personal vehicle.

Such initiative are needed across the globe to maintain the pollution level below its threshold.

On the other side, to reduce the number of automobile, policymakers can raise tax on them. This can ultimately reduce the number of car ownership. Today every individual owns a car as it is quiet cheap, so by raising the tax many people wil automatically opt to travel by public transport service. Another option to limit cars can be achieved by limiting it as per the availability of parking. For instance, in India government have implemented a rule recently, that only those people can buy cars who have access to their personal parking or have a parking in less than 1 km range.

In conclusion, encouraging people to use public transportation will help to curb the situation of vehicular traffic and congestion. Also, with the help of new strict rules and regulation owing a car by an individual can be limited