The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

29 million! This is a vehicle fleet recorded in the United Kingdom in 2000. A number which is prone to explode in a couple of years according to British Authorities.Therefore, I agree that governments and International Institutions should react and come up with strong measures aiming to encourage the use of clean energy transport. Difficult choices have to be taken to reduce traffic congestion which are the norm of most western cities and also to help curb global warming.

Firstly, most of the world's biggest capitals and cities are experiencing traffic congestions particularly during rush hours. This is mainly due to a new way of life based on consumption, urging the customer to buy more stuff including cars. For instance, according to a Financial Times article, the average household in Europe possesses 1.9 vehicles against 0.6 in the 70s while the number of public transport users has shown only 20% increase despite successive government campaigns to promote it.

Secondly, the impact of the growing car industry on the planet has never been more visible. Recent studies pointed out that Vehicular Emissions are responsible for 20% of the Global Warming and it is widely supported that this phenomenon is endangering multitude of vegetal and animal species throughout the world. This is not limited to other species, even mankind is a potential victim of this risky game, as several forms of cancer could be directly linked to the quality of the air.

To sum up, I think it is more than necessary for the international community and on the top, the United Nation to act in a responsible way to encourage both private and public transportation based on clean energy throughout the planet. Consequently, this will help reduce traffic jams in big cities' downtowns and make the life of human beings longer and healthier.