Technology is becoming increasingly prevalent in the world today. In the not too distant future, technology will completely replace the teacher in the classroom. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The technology is widely spreading in multiple fields nowadays. This has raised great concerns as it became increasingly central in the educational system.

However, I disagree that technology will edge teachers out of the classroom in the near future. A machine assuming the role of a teacher is totally unthinkable since it has no deep connections with the human world, and a politic aiming to replace human beings with robots would send a negative message to students who will be in the job market in a couple of years.

Firstly, a teacher is a human with feelings and thoughts. In the classroom, his mission is to transmit knowledge to a multitude of students with different backgrounds. Latest neurosciences studies have demonstrated that learning is a combination of thought and perception. For example, a physical phenomenon or an episode of the world war II will be perceived differently whether the learner is visual, kinesthetic or auditory. Moreover, Scientists agree that this subtlety is specific to mankind and the duty of a tutor is to find out the best way to pass knowledge to his students.

Secondly, people are even more afraid of technology influence when it comes to the job market. In a recent survey conducted by Forbes Magazine, more that 60% of the American Students think that the increasing use of technology will be a threat for their job security in future. An example to illustrate this, a photomontage which had been circulating on Facebook last year. The first picture shows a cameraman filming migrating birds on helicopter. On the second one, a drone doing the same activity is seen with a message saying: “In less than 10 years the pilot and the cameraman lost their respective jobs”. Therefore, it will be difficult to motivate students to learn while the general climate indicates that machines are taking over in different sectors.

In summary, a robotic teacher lacks basic perceptions to establish a real connection with students as they go through the learning process. Measures and politics aiming to replace persons by Artificial Intelligence in the classroom will never be popular within the society.

As explained above, it is clear that machines will not replace human teachers in the forthcoming future.