A government’s role is only to provide defense capability and urban infrastructure (roads, water supplies, etc.). All other services (education, health, social security) should be provided by private groups or individuals in the community.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

As a government’s resources are limited and strategic budget allocation is vital, a government need to consider providing quality services for their citizens. However, some believe that a government should solely prioritize defense capability and urban infrastructure, and all the other services, such as education and health, should be provided by private companies. While others believe that a government should equally spend money on every service and provide a quality service for all.

First, a government should only focus on providing defense capability and urban infrastructure because these services have a direct impact on citizens. The more people would appreciate and benefit from having a stable source of water supply, which is essential for living. It is important to be able to demonstrate a defense capability of the country to the citizens, because of the current international tension. Therefore, a government should prioritize spending money on defense capability and urban infrastructure in order to gain trust from the citizens.

On the other hands, education and health, among the other services, cannot be provided by private companies because it creates unnecessary competition that unable citizens to get an easy access to those services. For instance, pharmaceutical companies can easily increase the price of medicines and it hinders an opportunity for people to access those medicines when needed, if a government doesn’t centralize health services. Hence, other services such as education and health should not be provided by private company, in order to prohibit private companies to monopolize the industry.

To reiterate, it is arguable what service a government should invest more money in. A government should prioritize the citizen’s basic needs, but cannot other factors, such as education and health, that are crucial for their daily living. A government should be careful when considering an allocation of the budgets because each decision has a significant impact on the citizen’s life.