A government’s role is only to provide defence capability and urban infrastructure (roads, water supplies, etc.). All other services (education, health, social security) should be provided by private groups or individuals in the community.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

These days, there have been suggestions that the provision of defense service and developing urban welfare is the sole responsibility of the government while the public services such as health care or education is meant to be fulfilled only by the collective effort of citizens or the private organizations in the country. Personally, I assume that the suggestion is not practical enough for the reasons and evidence given as follows.

Indeed, the national security of a state is largely depending on the state since the government possesses the sole authority to enforce the armed forces. With the taxation given by the public and through the systematic allocation of the country's budget, the government will be able to protect its citizens by strengthening military capability or safeguarding the trans-national threats these days such as terrorist attacks. In addition to national security, the government is also highly responsible for the security of other types of welfare namely, educational security or health security of the people. Indeed, some pointed out private entities to finance those security aspects since the citizens are the ones having it.

Nonetheless, it lacks practical terms as the whole governing structure is composed of selected citizens who are capable of bringing a better future for the entire population, only the cooperation between the government and the private groups are more plausible for upgrading the living standard of the country as a whole. For instance, the elites may have the funding to support the public services, however, the sector of rules and regulation, the sustainability of the projects, or the security of the entity cannot simply be ensured by those elites. Undoubtedly, the involvement of government is partially required in order to maintain the reliability or the efficiency of those social infrastructures.

To sum up, it is acceptable that the government has the major responsibility to safeguard the defense welfare of the citizens but this does not translate to the fact that the other social aspects of the country are supposed to be tackled by the public alone. Only by promoting joint practice between the authority figures, private entities and the population as a whole in implementing the infrastructure development facilities can promise the holistic development of the entire nation.